The J. Michael Straczynski Message Archive


JMSNews provides an archive of messages posted
by J. Michael Straczynski (JMS).

  Home      Community Forums      Contest      Links      FAQ      About JMS     

RSS Feed  

 Search all Messages

   Sort by: 

This field searches the text of all messages in the archive.

    From: J. Michael Straczynski <>
 Subject: The One and the Nine
      To: CIS  
    Date: 3/1/1997 6:44:00 PM  

Message 1 in thread 

View this message only

Brent Barrett <> asks:
> Does this mean that Dukhat (and any leader of the Minbari people)
> is also on the Grey Council? Was Valen the first leader of the
> Minbari people in the history of the Grey Council? Or is it
> possible that this vacancy in the Nine was the one that Delenn
> later filled? Or am I reading this in the wrong way?
> Can you help me understand this a little better, please?

There's the One, and the Nine...when Dukhat was alive, there
were 9 grey council members and him as the head of it, making ten.
(Look at the picture and count the number of people.) 1 and 9.

Valen called together the Grey Council, formed the first one;
until then the castes had been in constant competition. He wanted to
operate outside of that a bit, so he made sure he was not one of the
Nine. That tradition has continued.

    From: J. Michael Straczynski <>
 Subject: The One and the Nine
      To: CIS  
    Date: 3/2/1997 5:08:00 PM  

Message 2 in thread 

View this message only

Dave Vincent <> asks:
> Could you identify this ship?
> Is this the case?

There was the Prometheus, which was there; and others, including
the Amundsen. The one you saw, which looks a bit like the Aggy but
without the rotating section, is another, smaller class of destroyer
also seen, I believe, in "Dreams."

    From: J. Michael Straczynski <>
 Subject: The One and the Nine
      To: CIS  
    Date: 3/4/1997 6:00:00 AM  

Message 3 in thread 

View this message only

{original post unavailable}

No, if you keep watching Dukhat comes in, followed by Delenn,
through the opening (the empty spot) and then another Minbari comes in
to fill that spot.

(Sudden thought...I have to check to see if we *used* that shot
or if it was just in dailies...but if you count the Minbari there at
the end of the scene, you'll find the count is correct.)


Site © 2015 Midnight Design Productions  -  Message content © 2015 by Synthetic Worlds  -  Privacy Statement