JMS Awarded Icon Award at SDCC

 Posted on 7/22/2013 by Jan in News

JMS was given an Icon Award at his spotlight panel at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday:

Straczynski is the eighth person to receive the Comic-Con Icon Award. He joins previous Icon Award winners Frank Miller (2006), Neil Gaiman (2007), George Lucas (2008), Stan Lee (2009), Ray Bradbury (2010), June Foray (2011), and Matt Groening (2012).

JMS posted today:

I wanted to extend my thanks here to the good folks at SDCC who this weekend honored me with the International Icon Award. I had no idea it was coming, so I was clueless as to what they were going on about when I arrived for my spotlight to find folks waiting for me on stage. By the time I figured out it was an award, let alone an Icon award, it was time to step up onto the stage to receive it, so I don't know how coherent I was in my acceptance.

So I wanted to use this space to extend my thanks to everyone at the convention for this amazing recognition, an award that's only been given eight times or so in the long history of SDCC (to folks like George Lucas, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, Matt Groening and Stan Lee). It's an absolutely stunning honor, and I am infinitely appreciative.